Since 1999

9th edition of the Nyon International Festival of Archaeological Films

from 24 to 28 March 2015, Usine à gaz, Nyon


Organisation : Roman Museum
Director : Mr Christophe Goumand

A new association for an active development of the Festival

After eight very successful editions, the Roman Museum felt the need to clarify and facilitate the Festival's workings, whilst still keeping its close link with it. The need to have a structure specially devoted to its organisation, and having resources specifically destined to its management and development, brought to the establishment of a new Association under the name "Festival International du film d'archéologie de Nyon" (F.I.F.A.N.). First limited to the members of a steering committee, this structure will grow with the arrival of new members, thoroughly waited as soon as the next edition starts.

The Festival's 9th edition, from 24 to 28 March 2015

Always biennial, this edition has taken place from 24 to 28 March 2015. About forty movies have been suggested to the public, free of charge, during 5 days and 9 sessions, of which the closing evening during which the prize-winning films have been presented.

The Festival is the place to inform the public of recent archaeological discoveries, throughout films, as well as a meeting and sharing place between archaeologists and the public. Thus, for instance, the film "Secrets au pays des aigles noirs", on recent excavations in Albania by the Geneva University, has been followed by a presentation of the excavation team.

The Festival addresses different periods and themes, that broaden the Roman Museum's framework. Thus is why prehistory was brought forward during at least two sessions dedicated to that period. The Khmer civilisation, less known by the public of our regions, was also mentioned during the week.

The looting problem as well as the various dangers that threaten archaeological sites, has been presented at the Festival throughout 2 sessions. The looting of cultural heritage, powered by a flourishing trade of archaeological artefacts ripping them from original context, is a catastrophe well known by the archaeologists. Yet, this issue is still unfamiliar to the public.

A film on Mayan civilisation has drawn a parallel between what ceramics may teach us, both ceramics owned by private collectors as well as ceramics found in situ. Better than an academic discourse, this film helps anyone to grasp the seriousness of the matter.

In order to understand what drives people to collect artefacts of mankind's heritage, we made the acquaintance of a collector who will divulge his motivation in a film.

Depredation of historical monuments have been the subject of an Iranian film, which makes us realize that, whatever our culture, the problems associated with safeguarding Heritage are the same everywhere.

All in all, whatever the film's subject is or whatever significance is given to the archaeological context in the film's statement, the works selected for the Festival are all about archaeological approaches that emphasise scientific knowledge and respect of the archaeological sites and artefacts, considered to be the source of the knowledge of Heritage goods.

 






Documents à télécharger

2015 edition of the Festival

2015 edition  of the Festival more

From 24 to 28 March 2015, the Roman Museum organized the 9th edition of the Nyon International Festival of Archaeological Films! You can discover the program by clicking here!

This year's edition was different from the others, because of the establishment of a new Association under the name "Festival International du film d'archéologie de Nyon" (F.I.F.A.N.)!

About forty movies were suggested to the public, free of charge, during 5 days and 9 sessions, of which the closing evening during which the prize-winning films were been presented.

Support the Roman Museum!

Support the Roman Museum! more

Would you like to support the Roman Museum?

Then join the AMN (Association des Amis des Musées de Nyon) or make a donation to the Roman Museum!

Depuis 1999

9ème édition du Festival International du Film d’Archéologie de Nyon

du 24 au 28 mars 2015, Usine à gaz, Nyon


Organisation: Musée romain

Directeur: M. Christophe Goumand

Une nouvelle association pour des perspectives dynamiques d'évolution du Festival

Après huit éditions couronnées de succès, le besoin s'est fait sentir, pour le Musée romain, de clarifier et faciliter le fonctionnement du Festival tout en maintenant avec lui son lien étroit et historique. Le besoin de lui apporter une structure spécialement dévolue à son organisation, et disposant de ressources spécifiquement destinées à sa gestion et à son développement, a mené à la création d'une nouvelle Association sous le nom de "Festival International du film d'archéologie de Nyon" (F.I.F.A.N.). Dans un premier temps limitée à des membres constituant un comité de pilotage, cette structure est appelée à s'étoffer par la recherche, prévue activement dès la prochaine édition du festival, de nouveaux membres.

La 9e édition du Festival, du 24 au 28 mars 2015

Toujours biennal, le festival a eu lieu du 24 au 28 mars 2015. Une quarantaine de films ont été proposés gratuitement au public pendant 5 jours et 9 sessions, dont la soirée de clôture lors de laquelle ont été présentés des films primés.

Lieu idéal pour informer, par le film, le public des récentes découvertes archéologiques, il est également lieu de rencontre et de partage entre les archéologues et le public. Ainsi, par exemple, le film "Secrets au pays des aigles noirs" sur les fouilles récentes de l'Université de Genève en Albanie a été suivi d'une présentation de l'équipe de fouille.

Le festival aborde des périodes et thèmes qui élargissent les perspectives qui trouvent place au Musée romain. C'est ainsi que la préhistoire a été à l'honneur lors d'au moins deux séances dédiées à cette période. La civilisation des Khmers, peu connue du public de nos régions, a aussi été abordée durant la semaine.

Quant au problème du pillage et des dangers divers qui menacent toujours davantage les sites archéologiques, il a à nouveau été à l'affiche du festival et a été traité lors de 2 séances. Le pillage des sites, alimenté par l'existence d'un commerce florissant d'objets archéologiques dont toutes les données liées au contexte de découverte sont perdues, est une catastrophe bien connue des professionnels de l'archéologie. Mais cette problématique reste encore mal connue du public.

Un film sur la civilisation Maya a fait notamment le parallèle entre ce que nous apprennent les céramiques acquises par des collectionneurs privés et celles découvertes in situ. Mieux qu'un discours académique, le film permet à tout un chacun de comprendre la gravité du problème.

Afin de comprendre ce qui motive des personnes à collectionner des objets faisant partie du patrimoine humain, nous sommes allés à la rencontre d'un collectionneur qui dévoile ses motivations dans un film.

Les déprédations commises sur les monuments historiques ont été abordées au travers d'un film iranien où l'on a pu se rendre compte que, quelle que soit la culture dans laquelle on vit, les problèmes liés à la sauvegarde du patrimoine se posent en termes identiques.

En résumé, quels que soient le sujet précis du film et l'importance donnée, dans le propos, à la prise en compte du contexte archéologique, les oeuvres sélectionnées pour le festival s'intéressent toutes à des démarches archéologiques qui privilégient la connaissance et biens de patrimoine.

 






Documents à télécharger

Edition 2015 du Festival

Edition 2015 du Festival en savoir plus

Du 24 au 28 mars 2015, le Musée romain a organisé la 9ème édition du Festival international du film d'archéologie! Le programme est à découvrir en cliquant ici!

Cette année le Festival s'est démarqué des autres éditions par la création de l'Association du Festival, sous le nom de "Festival International du film d'archéologie de Nyon" (F.I.F.A.N.)!

Une quarantaine de films ont été proposés gratuitement au public pendant 5 jours et 9 sessions, dont la soirée de clôture lors de laquelle ont été présentés des films primés.

Soutenez le Musée romain !

Soutenez le Musée romain ! en savoir plus

Voulez-vous soutenir le Musée romain ?

Rejoignez l'AMN (Association des Amis des Musées de Nyon) ou faites un don pour le Musée romain !