Since 1999

4th edition of the Nyon International Festival of Archaeological Films

The fourth edition of the Festival was held from 15 to 19 March 2005 at the Usine à gaz, Nyon


Organization : Roman Museum.
Director : Mr. Christophe Goumand.

This year there were three awards, including the award for the best low-budget film, as well as three mentions and the audience award. We should like to thank our audience who, despite strong temptation from the spring outside, proved very attentive, particularly in their active participation in the discussions arising out of the presentations and in mingling amicably with the professionals at several of the sessions. This is proof that these films really do make accessible to everyone subjects which might be thought to be confined to specialists.

New departures

The collaboration with Eric Huysecom, president of the Cercle genevois d’archéologie and lecturer in the Department of Anthropology of the University of Geneva, not only opened our eyes to ethno-archaeology, a type of archaeological research little known outside specialist circles, but also made us aware of the highlighting of the archaeological film in its role as a historical document. The fragility of the sources of information in this field and the need to make every effort to preserve them, give them a productive role and disseminate them was demonstrated by a group of films – one of which dates back to 1913 – reviving for us the age-old actions and practices of iron smelting in Africa, performed one last time to enable them to be recorded on camera. The Festival has its place in this work of patient construction. We look forward to renewing this collaboration in two years time.

The jury

This year three members of our jury were from France and included the president, Jean-François Renac and Christophe Frédérick-Linglet, film editor of “Sagalassos”, the winning film of our 2003 Festival and film editor in chief in Lille. He drew attention to the importance of his presence on the jury for himself and for his profession which is for the most part unrepresented in events of this kind.

Chairman

Jean-François Renac, in charge of distribution for the Scientific Research Film Service (CERIMES), Ministry of National Education, France

Members

Marc-André Haldimann, archaeologist, curator of the Department of Archaeology, Art and History Museum, Geneva

Bruno Bréart, archaeologist, regional curator of archaeology, DRAC Franche Comté, Besançon

Christophe Frédérick-Linglet, film editor in chief, Lille, France

Hicham Alhayat, film-director, actor, Geneva

The 2005 Festival on TSR!




Documents à télécharger

2015 edition of the Festival

2015 edition  of the Festival more

From 24 to 28 March 2015, the Roman Museum organized the 9th edition of the Nyon International Festival of Archaeological Films! You can discover the program by clicking here!

This year's edition was different from the others, because of the establishment of a new Association under the name "Festival International du film d'archéologie de Nyon" (F.I.F.A.N.)!

About forty movies were suggested to the public, free of charge, during 5 days and 9 sessions, of which the closing evening during which the prize-winning films were been presented.

Support the Roman Museum!

Support the Roman Museum! more

Would you like to support the Roman Museum? Then join the AMN (Association des Amis des Musées de Nyon) or make a donation to the Roman Museum!

Seit 1999

4. Auflage des Internationalen Festivals der Archäologischen Filme von Nyon

Die 4. Auflage des Festivals fand vom 15. bis 19. März 2005 in der Gasfabrik (Usine à gaz) von Nyon statt.


Organisation : Römisches Museum

Direktor : Christophe Goumand

 

Dieses Jahr wurden drei Preise, davon einer für den besten Low-Budget-Film, sowie drei Auszeichnungen und der Publikumspreis vergeben. Wir möchten uns bei unserem Publikum bedanken, das dem verführerischen Frühlingswetter draussen widerstanden hat: Es hat sein Interesse und seine Aufmerksamkeit durch eine aktive Beteiligung an den Diskussionen sowie ein freundschaftliches Beisammensein mit den Wissenschaftlern bei den vielen Vorstellungen und Präsentationen gezeigt. Dies ist der Beweis, dass Dokumentationen jedem einen Zugang zu Themen bieten, die normalerweise Spezialisten vorbehalten sind.

Neue Ansätze

Die Zusammenarbeit mit Eric Huysecom, Präsident des Cercle genevois d'archéologie und Dozent am Institut für Anthropologie der Universität Genf, hat uns nicht nur die Augen für die Ethnoarchäologie geöffnet, die ausserhalb der Fachkreise leider nur wenig bekannt ist, sondern auch die Rolle des archäologischen Films als historisches Dokument in den Fokus gerückt. Das diesjährige Programm drehte sich insbesondere um die Zerbrechlichkeit der archäologischen Informationsquellen und die Notwendigkeit, letztere zu erhalten, einzusetzen und an künftige Generationen weiterzugeben. Einige Filme - davon einer aus 1913 - hauchten den uralten Techniken und Handgriffen des Eisengusses in Afrika noch einmal Leben ein, als sie für die Kameras ein letztes Mal ausgeführt wurden. Das Festival hat einen festen Platz in diesen Forschungen. Wir freuen uns darauf, diese Zusammenarbeit in zwei Jahren zu weiterzuführen.

Die Jury

Dieses Jahr kommen drei der Jurymitglieder aus Frankreich, zu denen der Vorsitzende Jean-François Renac und Christophe Frédérick-Linget, Filmeditor von "Sagalossa" (Preisträger des Festivals 2003) und Chefeditor in Lille, gehören. Für letzteren war ein Platz in der Jury besonders wichtig, da sein Berufszweig bei dieser Art von Veranstaltung häufig untervertreten ist.

Vorsitz

Jean-François Renac, Vertriebsverantwortlicher des Amts für Filme der wissenschaftlichen Forschung (CERIMES), Nationales Kultusministerium, Frankreich

Mitglieder

Marc-André Haldimann, Archäologe, Konservator der Abteilung für Archäologie, Kunst- und Geschichtsmuseum, Genf

Bruno Bréart, Archäologe, Regionaler Konservator für Archäologie, DRAC Franche Comté, Besançon

Christophe Frédérick-Linglet, Chefeditor, Lille, Frankreich

Hicham Alhayat, Regisseur, Schauspieler, Genf

Das  Festival 2005 auf TSR!




Documents à télécharger

Unterstützen Sie das römische Museum!

Unterstützen Sie das römische Museum! mehr

Wollen Sie das römische Museum unterstützen? Treten Sie der AMN (Association des Amis des Musées de Nyon) bei oder spenden Sie für das römische Museum!