Rue de la Porcelaine



The excavations carried out between 1996 and 1999 below the Rue de la Porcelaine resulted in large quantities of remains which have extended our knowledge of a hitherto unknown sector of the Roman town, which has proved to have been occupied continually from the beginning of the 1st century to the middle of the 2nd century AD at least.

The former shore of the lake has been identified at the bottom of this terrain thanks to the presence of lake-bed sand containing rolled tiles.  Surveys have revealed tiers of Roman buildings on the slope of the hill.  Two large buildings side-by-side and separated by a path may have been intended for artisanal activities or were storage depots.

Pipes, a well and a fountain were also discovered.  The well was cased with a re-used wooden barrel, three staves of which carried an inscription.  The fountain (exhibited in the Museum) was supplied with clean water by a network of tiled drains and for the time being is the only evidence of how the inhabitants obtained their daily supply of water.

Also found in the sector were 26 graves of new-born infants (one grave is exhibited in the Museum) and a ditch mainly containing pottery and charred bones.  The study of these materials (exhibited in the Museum) suggests that the remains of a funeral ceremony (banquet?) were deposited in the ditch.
 



Reserve your visit

Reserve your visit more

Reservation form for your visit

Program for schools

Program for schools more

The Roman Museum has a entire programm made espacially for schools!

Birthdays at the Roman Museum

Birthdays at the Roman Museum more

Choose between 4 workshops for your child's birthday! The plan is to jump back in time, to the Roman era.

Roman days in Nyon

Roman days in Nyon more

Every two years, The Roman day of Nyon shares archaeological research with the public, in a lively and accessible way.

Archaeological site

Archaeological site more

Discover Nyon's archaeological site and its finds!

Support the Roman Museum!

Support the Roman Museum! more

Would you like to support the Roman Museum?

Then join the AMN (Association des Amis des Musées de Nyon) or make a donation to the Roman Museum!

Rue de la Porcelaine



Von 1996 bis 1999 wurde unterhalb der Rue de la Porcelaine ausgegraben. Dabei kamen viele Objekte ans Licht, die uns Erkenntnisse über einen bis dahin unbekannten Sektor der römischen Stadt ermöglichten. Dieser war anscheinend vom Anfang des 1. Jhd. bis zur Hälfte des 2. Jhd. n. Chr. dauerhaft besetzt.

Im unteren Teil des Terrains war das antike Ufer des Sees klar erkennbar. Es zeichnete sich deutlich durch das Vorhandenseins von Seesand ab, welcher eingerollte Ziegel enthielt. Sondierungen haben ausserdem römische Bauten am Hang enthüllt. Zwei grosse Gebäude, die Seite an Seite gefunden wurden und durch einen Weg getrennt waren, könnten für handwerkliche Aktivitäten gedacht oder Lagerhäuser gewesen sein.

Ebenfalls wurden Kanalisationen, ein Springbrunnen und ein Brunnenschacht entdeckt. Letzterer war mit einer wiederverwendeten Holztonne ausgekleidet, von der drei Bretter eine Inschrift trugen. Der (im Museum ausgestellte) Springbrunnen wurde von einem Netzwerk von Abflussrohren aus Dachziegeln mit klarem Wasser versorgt. Dies ist bis jetzt die einzige Spur davon, wie die Bewohner sich tagtäglich mit Trinkwasser versorgten.

Des Weiteren wurden in diesem Sektor 26 Gräber von Neugeborenen (von denen eines im Museum ausgestellt ist) ausgegraben sowie eine Grube, die vor allem Keramik und kalzinierte Knochen enthielt. Nachdem dieses (im Museum präsentierte) Mobiliar untersucht wurde, können wir nun sagen, dass es sich um die Reste einer Begräbniszeremonie (eines Banketts?) handelt, die in dieser Grube deponiert wurden.



#MuseumFromHome

#MuseumFromHome mehr

Das Museum ist 40 Jahre alt

Das Museum ist 40 Jahre alt mehr

Reservierung des Besuchs

Reservierung des Besuchs mehr

Anmeldeformular für Ihren Besuch

Program for schools

Program for schools mehr

The Roman Museum has a entire programm made espacially for schools!

Archäologischer Fundort

Archäologischer Fundort mehr

Entdecken Sie den Fundort Nyon und seine Fundstücke!