#MuseumFromHome

Nyon's Aqueduct



Scroll down for the children's activity!

Water, source of life and key element of the Romans' art of living

Throughout history, humans always chose to live near a water point; for survival, agriculture, trade or even protection. During Roman times, water was sought after, worshipped, channelled or even showed off, as was the case in the roman colony of Nyon. Aqueducts, monumental fountains and baths were the symbol of the Empire’s skills, wealth and lifestyle. A role model for everyone to follow.

The Romans went to the baths every day to wash, have a chat with friends, relax, hold meetings, listen to gossip, work out… These infrastructures needed an enormous amount of water that wells and cisterns could not provide. They needed a special conduct to fulfil their needs: aqueducts. In Rome, a very crowded city with several public baths and latrines (toilets), water was brought from the sources of Tivoli, 20 km away. By the 3rdc., the capital had eleven aqueducts.

A specialised service, led by the curator aquarum, in charge of water supply, with a large team (up to 700 employees), managed the maintenance and suppression of frauds of these conducts. The first curator aquarum was Agrippa, August’s right-hand man, in 33 BC. He oversaw the construction of public baths (free of charge, which was quite an event), aqueducts, fountains and the renovation of some facilities and sewers. It was a matter of public maintenance that was meant to embellish the capital, satisfy its people and establish the authority of the man who was going to be the first emperor.

The Colonia Iulia Equestris (Nyon), built in Rome’s image, probably acquired its aqueduct in the 1st c. AC. Let’s have a look at this example, of which a scale model, exhibited in the Museum, shows its construction.

In order to build such a conduct, the first thing to do was to find a natural spring, of good quality and at a higher altitude than the city, so the water would flow thanks to gravity. Nyon’s water came from Divonne-les-Bains, 10 km away.

Several sections of the aqueduct were found during archaeological digs throughout time. The last ones were held in the Cossy neighbourhood, where the layout of the aqueduct is no longer visible, but its route signalled by a line in the football pitch’s grass.

The conduct was underground, more or less 50 cm under the walking level. Water flowed on a tile pavement covered by an arch (typical roman architectural element which supports heavy loads). The arches and bridges (like the “Pont du Gard”) were long to build and expensive, so aqueducts were preferably underground (which, incidentally, is better for the water, protecting it from dirt, theft, frost and evaporation).

In the model, we can see the workers bringing stones, preparing the tiles and mortar before starting to build the structure. What looks like a well is actually an opening that gave access to the conduct for cleaning and repairs.

Throughout its course, the slope was precisely calculated ; steep enough for the water to naturally flow, but not too steep in order to avoid high pressure that would weaken the structure. Today, its course disappears after the “route de St-Cergue” but, back then, it continued to the city and ended in a water tower.

After that, the water went in priority to the fountains and public latrines, then to the baths and industries and lastly to the citizens who could afford private pipes and the related fee. Public fountains were also used to fight fires, quite common in densely populated cities where lighting, cooking, heating and industries needed fire.

In the city, the pipes were often made out of stone, wood or terracotta, because metal was very expensive. Lead pipes were also used, but weren’t as dangerous as one might think.  For lead to be harmful, water has to stagnate, whereas in the aqueduct water streams at a steady pace. Furthermore, limestone settles rapidly in the pipes, thus insulating metal from water. 

Finally, all this water had to be evacuated because the streets were flooded with the overflow coming from fountains and buildings. Discharge pipes took waste water to a main sewage. In Nyon, this pipe is hidden under today’s “Grand Rue”. The water’s course ended in the Geneva Lake.

Sometimes, the useful and noteworthy constructions were the most inconspicuous. The invisible underground aqueduct underlines the excellent skills of the roman civil engineers. It allowed the cities to grow.

A roman author wrote: “With these grand structures, so numerous and indispensable, carrying so many waters, who indeed would compare the idle Pyramids or other useless, although renowned, works of the Greeks” (Frontinus, de aquaeductibus urbis romae, XVI, 1). To understand his text, one must know that Frontinus was curator aquarum and that his treaty explained every aspect of his work. Being the benchmark in this area, he was assigned to this job by the Emperor himself, and is therefore lobbying for himself.

Of course, aqueducts, baths, latrines and sewers helped the rise of the civilisation and the Roman Empire by improving daily life, hygiene, security and industry. This civilisation left traces beyond Europe and is still celebrated for its mastery of various subject areas; asking us to continually reflect upon our own skills.

Sylvie Gobbo
Guide and auxiliary at the Roman Museum of Nyon, archaeology graduate
 
 

Something to read:

  • Collectif, Musée romain de Nyon Colonia Iulia Esquestris, un site, un musée, Gollion, Infolio, 2019.
  • Frontin, Les aqueducs de la ville de Rome, texte établi, traduit et commenté par Grimal P., Paris, Les Belles Lettres, 1944.
  • Bonnin, J., L'eau dans l'Antiquité: l'hydraulique avant notre ère, Paris, Eyrolles, 1984.
  • Malissard, A., Les Romains et l'eau: fontaines, salles de bain, thermes, égouts, aqueducs..., Paris, Les Belles Lettres, 2002.

 

For children

Learn all about the Nyon aqueduct and try to find the water's course throughout the city!

U+21E9.gif Download the text and game down here U+21E9.gif



Documents à télécharger


#MuseumFromHome

#MuseumFromHome more

During the pandemic lockdown, the Roman Museum launched #MuseumFromHome, a new way for you to discover the Museum's collections!

The Roman Museum is 40 years old

The Roman Museum is 40 years old more

The Roman Museum celebrated its 40th Birthday. An ideal opportunity to celebrate, whilst putting forth a few monuments of the Roman past of Nyon, using digital technology!

Reserve your visit

Reserve your visit more

Reservation form for your visit

Program for schools

Program for schools more

The Roman Museum has a entire programm made espacially for schools!

Archaeological site

Archaeological site more

Discover Nyon's archaeological site and its finds!

#MuseumFromHome

L'aqueduc de Nyon



Activité pour les enfants en bas de page!

L'eau, garante de la vie

Au fil de l’Histoire, l’humain a toujours choisi de s’établir près de l’eau ; pour la survie, l’agriculture, le commerce ou encore la protection. Durant la période romaine, l’eau est recherchée, vénérée, canalisée ou même exhibée et la colonie de Nyon ne fait pas exception. Aqueducs, fontaines monumentales et thermes étaient les emblèmes du savoir-faire de l’Empire, de sa richesse et de son mode de vie érigé en modèle.

Les Romains se rendaient chaque jour aux bains, pour se laver, discuter entre amis, se détendre, tenir des réunions, écouter les ragots, faire du sport… Ces infrastructures nécessitaient une énorme quantité d’eau, puits et citernes ne suffisaient pas, c’est pourquoi des conduites spéciales, les aqueducs, furent construites. A Rome, ville très peuplée comprenant de nombreux bains et latrines (toilettes) publiques, la précieuse ressource était ainsi amenée depuis les sources de Tivoli, à 20 km. Au IIIe siècle, la capitale comptait onze aqueducs.

Un service spécialisé, dirigé par le curator aquarum, curateur des eaux, et une grande équipe (jusqu’à 700 employés) gérait ces conduites, leur entretien et la répression des fraudes. Le premier curateur fut Agrippa, le bras droit d’Auguste, en 33 av. J.-C. Il fit ériger des thermes publics et gratuits (véritable événement), des aqueducs, des fontaines et rénova installations et égouts. Il s’agissait d’une politique d’entretien public visant à embellir la capitale, contenter le peuple et asseoir le pouvoir de celui qui devait s’imposer comme le premier empereur.

La Colonia Iulia Equestris, Nyon aujourd’hui, construite à l’image de Rome, acquit très probablement son aqueduc au Iers. de notre ère. Observons donc cet exemple, dont une maquette du musée expose la construction.

Pour réaliser une telle conduite il s’agissait de trouver une source de qualité, abondante et à une altitude plus élevée que la ville, pour permettre un écoulement par gravité. L’eau de Nyon était captée 10 km plus loin, à Divonne-les-Bains (non ce n’est pas une coïncidence).

Plusieurs tronçons de l’aqueduc ont été retrouvés lors de fouilles archéologiques sur des zones menacées de destruction par des travaux de construction. Si la structure de l’ouvrage n’a pas pu être laissée visible, son tracé est cependant indiqué par une ligne dans l’herbe du terrain de football du quartier du Cossy.

La conduite était enterrée à une cinquantaine de centimètres sous le sol. L’eau s’écoulait sur un dallage en tuiles recouvert par une voûte (élément type de l’architecture romaine permettant de supporter des charges importantes). Les arches et ponts (comme le Pont du Gard) étaient longs et coûteux à réaliser, les aqueducs étaient de préférence souterrains (ce qui protège mieux l’eau des saletés, des vols, du gel et de l’évaporation).

Sur la maquette, on voit des ouvriers qui amènent les pierres, préparent les tuiles et le mortier avant de construire la structure. Ce qui ressemble à un puits est un regard qui permettait d’accéder à la conduite pour la nettoyer et la réparer.

Durant son parcours, la pente était précisément calculée ; suffisamment forte pour permettre l’écoulement, mais pas trop, afin d’éviter une pression trop importante qui fragiliserait la construction. On perd la trace de l’aqueduc après ce qui est aujourd’hui la route de St-Cergue, mais il devait arriver en ville dans un château d’eau.

Ensuite l’eau allait en priorité aux fontaines et latrines publiques, puis dans les thermes et industries et finalement chez les citoyens pouvant se payer des tuyaux privés et la redevance. Les fontaines publiques étaient également utiles pour lutter contre les incendies, fréquents dans des villes densément peuplées où éclairage, cuisine, chauffage et industries nécessitaient du feu.

En ville, les conduites étaient souvent en pierre, en bois ou en terre cuite, car le métal coûtait cher. Le risque sanitaire lié aux tuyaux en plomb était presque inexistant car, pour provoquer une réaction néfaste, l’eau doit stagner dans les conduites ; or celle de l’aqueduc coulait en continu, de plus du calcaire se déposait rapidement dans les tuyaux, isolant métal et eau.

Enfin il s’agissait d’évacuer toute cette eau, car les rues étaient inondées par le trop-plein s’écoulant des fontaines et bâtiments. Des conduites d’évacuation drainaient les eaux usées vers un grand égout. A Nyon cette conduite se cache encore sous la Grand Rue actuelle. Le point final du parcours était le lac Léman.

Parfois les ouvrages utiles et remarquables sont aussi les plus discrets. L’aqueduc enterré, invisible, prouve la compétence de l’ingénierie civile romaine. Il permit aux villes de croître, comme le non moins secret et efficace système d’égouts lavant la cité de ses déchets.

Un auteur romain écrivit : « Aux masses si nombreuses et si nécessaires de tant d’aqueducs, allez donc comparer les pyramides qui ne servent évidemment à rien ou encore les ouvrages des Grecs, inutiles, mais célébrés de partout » (Frontin, de aquaeductibus urbis romae, XVI, 1). Pour comprendre ce texte il faut savoir que son auteur, Frontin, fut curateur des eaux à Rome et que ce traité expliquait tous les aspects de son travail. Référence en la matière, il était mandaté à cette charge par l’empereur et il prêche donc pour sa paroisse.

Bien entendu aqueducs, thermes, latrines et égouts ont aidé l’essor de la civilisation et de l’empire romain en améliorant le quotidien, l’hygiène, la sécurité et l’industrie. Cette culture a laissé des traces au-delà de l’Europe, elle influence et impressionne encore aujourd’hui par la maîtrise qu’elle avait dans bien des domaines, en permettant de nous faire réfléchir à la nôtre.

Pour télécharger la fiche technique de l'aqueduc, cliquez ici.

Sylvie Gobbo
Guide et auxiliaire au Musée romain de Nyon, diplômée en archéologie

Un peu de lecture : 

  • Collectif, Musée romain de Nyon Colonia Iulia Esquestris, un site, un musée, Gollion, Infolio, 2019.
  • Frontin, Les aqueducs de la ville de Rome, texte établi, traduit et commenté par Grimal P., Paris, Les Belles Lettres, 1944.
  • Bonnin, J., L'eau dans l'Antiquité: l'hydraulique avant notre ère, Paris, Eyrolles, 1984.
  • Malissard, A., Les Romains et l'eau: fontaines, salles de bain, thermes, égouts, aqueducs..., Paris, Les Belles Lettres, 2002.

 

Pour les enfants

Découvre tout sur l'aqueduc de Nyon et amuses-toi en essayant de retrouver le parcours de l'eau dans la ville romaine de Nyon avec le dessin ci-dessous!

U+21E9.gif Téléchargez le texte et le jeu en cliquant ci-dessous U+21E9.gif



Documents à télécharger


#MuseumFromHome

#MuseumFromHome en savoir plus

Pendant fermeture à cause de la pandémie, le Musée romain a lancé #MuseumFromHome, une manière inédite de découvrir les collections!

40 ans du Musée romain

40 ans du Musée romain en savoir plus

Le Musée romain a célébré ses 40 ans, une occasion rêvée de faire la fête, tout en mettant en valeur certains monuments du passé romain de Nyon, notamment au moyen de techniques numériques actuelles.

Réservation de visites

Réservation de visites en savoir plus

Réservez votre visite guidée ici.

Programme pour les écoles

Programme pour les écoles en savoir plus

Un grand choix pour répondre au mieux à vos besoins. Pensez-y pour vos sorties de fin d'année!

Site archéologique

Site archéologique en savoir plus

Découvrez le site archéologique de la ville de Nyon avec ses différentes découvertes !