#MuseumFromHome

The great bronze statuary of Nyon



Scroll down for the children's activity!

The great bronze statuary of Nyon

When the city was filled with bronze giants…

It is sometimes difficult to imagine what the city of Nyon looked like when it was the capital of the Colonia Iulia Equestris. If its location hasn’t changed since its foundation in 44 BC, the organisation of its urban centre and the everyday life and customs of its inhabitants has continued to evolve through time. 

The only witnesses of this rich past are the numerous archaeological remains and artefacts resting underground and discovered over the last two centuries. Amongst these discoveries were found several bronze fragments, some of which are richly designed, that are the proof of the existence of big sculptures in Antiquity.

A silent but conspicuous existence: In Roman times, bronze statues held an important, and visible, place in everyday life. They were omnipresent, inescapable images of the roman citizen’s daily life. They could be of human scale or monumental and were usually dedicated to a divinity, political figure or, more often, to the emperor and/or his family.

Political or religious statues were usually displayed in a public location. The forum (the city’s trading, legal, political, religious and business meeting place) was the perfect place for such a display. You could also catch a glimpse of these statues on quite a few street corners, entertainment and administrative buildings and the baths. Temples, dedicated to the worship of either the imperial family or any other divinity, were also filled with statues.

In the private sphere, sculptures adorned rich estates and their gardens. In this case, the statues could represent mythological scenes, daily life topics or even members of the family. Some sculptures could be dedicated to artists or athletes, a habit inherited from Greek tradition.  The roman author, Pliny the Elder (23 to 79 AD), mentions that the poet L. Accius “had a statue of himself erected in the Temple of the Muses, which was extremely large, although he himself was very short.” (Pliny the Elder, Natural History, book XXXIV, 10, 2).

Even though the statues’ iconographical diversity was quite vast, depictions of the Emperor were the most common. He could be on horseback, on a chariot or simply represented full length… This way he could take part of the city’s life. This was especially important in provincial territories that were far from Rome, as was the Colonia Iulia Equestris. In public and legal places, courts of law for instance, these statues, representing the Emperor’s authority, validated every decision made. 

Let’s make the clues talk: Whilst walking around Nyon today, it’s quite difficult to imagine what the city looked like back then, when the statues were omnipresent. Throughout the ages they were melted for their precious alloy, very sought after. One the place where they were exhibited was abandoned or that the person depicted was no longer in service, the statues were dismantled and their metal reused for the creation of smaller bronze objects (dishes, figurines, fibula…).

For those statues that made it through time, a lot of them were considered as pagan and were destroyed in medieval times… with a few exceptions.  For instance, the statue of Marcus Aurelius at the Capitol in Rome, was only saved because it was mistaken for a statue of the Christian Emperor Constantine. The other exceptions are mainly sculptures from Herculaneum and Pompeii, preserved through time by the Vesuvius eruption in 79 AD.

In Nyon, some fragments were preserved. The one illustrated in this article was found in the “la Duche” archaeological digs, in 2005. It was found near a portico and a richly decorated area, the function of which has not yet been determined. Thanks to the study of the building’s foundation wooden stakes, we know that it has been restructured between 143-145 AC. The object might have belonged to a statue that sat in this building, later dismantled. The function of this building remains unclear, but by studying the means used for its construction, the researchers suspect it might have been a large-scale public building.

But what does this fragment teach us? The first thing that raises questions is its colour. Even if bronze had a coppery colour, far from the greenish colour we can see today due to oxidation, Romans chose to sometimes cover it with a patina. In this case, it was gilded with gold foil. This was usually restricted to prominent figures such as a divinity, the Emperor or even a high dignitary. We can rule the first case out, because Gods were generally represented nude, and the fragments constitutes a part of a garment. It is composed of a smooth portion followed by fringes which is characteristic of what we may found on the pallium (male coat) of a high ranking figure.

The clues lead to the conclusion that this object might be the last remaining part of a statue representing an important figure, in gilded bronze, probably a life-sized, or larger, statue of an emperor wearing a fringed coat. If this statue was indeed exhibited in the unidentified structure, where it was found, it might confirm that this building had a formal role in the city.

There are several other fragments of bronze statues that were found in Nyon and that bear witness of the Colonia’s rich past. Amongst these were found a sword and a horse’s ear, both still in study, which were probably respectively part of a armoured statue and an equestrian statue. Let’s hope that these statues, that used to be exhibited all over town, will give us more to learn about our Roman past. At least, they are proof that the city has a lot more secrets to reveal.

Flore Higelin
Guide and auxiliary at the Roman Museum of Nyon. Archaeology graduate currently working on a thesis about the great bronze statuary in Switzerland.
 

Something to read:

  •  J. Fejfer, Roman Portrait in Context, (Berlin 2008)
  • P. Hauser, C. Henny, V. Rey-Vodoz, F. Rossi, Musée romain de Nyon : Colonia Iulia Equestris, (Gollion, 2019) 
  • Pline L’Ancien, Histoire naturelle, texte établi, traduit et commenté par J. Beaujeu, (Paris 1944)
  • E.A. Friedland, The Oxford handbook of Roman sculpture, (New York 2015)
  • E. Formigli, G. Lahusen, Römische Bildnisse aus bronze : Kunst und Technik (Munich, 2001)

 

Data sheet:

Bronze fragment

 

For children

Learn everything about roman bronze statues and have fun dressing up as a Roman!

U+21E9.gif Download the text and game down here U+21E9.gif



Documents à télécharger


#MuseumFromHome

#MuseumFromHome more

During the pandemic lockdown, the Roman Museum launched #MuseumFromHome, a new way for you to discover the Museum's collections!

The Roman Museum is 40 years old

The Roman Museum is 40 years old more

The Roman Museum celebrated its 40th Birthday. An ideal opportunity to celebrate, whilst putting forth a few monuments of the Roman past of Nyon, using digital technology!

Reserve your visit

Reserve your visit more

Reservation form for your visit

Program for schools

Program for schools more

The Roman Museum has a entire programm made espacially for schools!

Archaeological site

Archaeological site more

Discover Nyon's archaeological site and its finds!

#MuseumFromHome

La grande statuaire en bronze à Nyon



Activité pour les enfants en bas de page!

La grande statuaire en bronze à Nyon

Quand la ville était peuplée de géants de bronze…

Il est parfois difficile de s’imaginer aujourd’hui à quoi devait ressembler notre ville de Nyon lorsque celle-ci était encore le chef-lieu de la Colonia Iulia Equestris. Si son emplacement n’a pas changé depuis sa fondation en 44 avant J.-C, l’organisation de son centre urbain et les mœurs et coutumes de ses habitants n’ont pour leur part pas cessé d’évoluer au cours des siècles.

Seuls témoins de ce riche passé, les nombreux vestiges et objets archéologiques reposant sous nos pieds et découverts lors des fouilles de ces deux derniers siècles. C’est parmi eux qu’ont été retrouvés plusieurs fragments en bronze, certains richement élaborés et indicateurs de la présence antique de grandes sculptures.  

Une présence silencieuse mais ostensible : Durant la période romaine, les statues en bronze tenaient une place bien visible au sein de la vie courante. Omniprésentes, elles représentaient des figures incontournables du quotidien des citoyens romains. De tailles humaines à monumentales, les sculptures étaient généralement dédiées à une divinité, des personnalités politiques en vue ou, plus fréquemment, à l’empereur voire à sa famille. 

Les statues au rôle politique ou religieux étaient généralement exposées sur des emplacements publics. Le forum (lieu de rencontre commercial, juridique, politique, religieux et économique de la cité) en était l’emplacement par excellence. On retrouvait aussi des sculptures en bronze à de nombreux coins de rue, sur les monuments de spectacle, les thermes ou les bâtiments administratifs. Les temples, abritant aussi bien le culte impérial que ceux dédiés à d’autres divinités, étaient des lieux de prédisposition à l’implantation d’une statue.

Dans un contexte privé, ces sculptures ornaient les riches propriétés et leurs jardins. Dans ce cas de figure, les sujets choisispouvaient être issus de scènes mythologiques, du quotidien et représentaient parfois des membres de la famille. Certaines sculptures étaient aussi dédiées à des artistes ou des athlètes, une pratique héritée de la tradition grecque. L’auteur romain, Pline l’Ancien (23 à 79 av. J.-C) fait par ailleurs mention du poète L. Accius « qui se fit dresser dans le temple des Muses une statue très grande, quoiqu'il fût très petit. » (Pline l'Ancien, Histoire naturelle, livre XXXIV, 10, 2).

Bien que la diversité iconographique de ces représentations soit vaste, l’empereur demeurait le sujet principal. Ses différentes effigies se déclinaient sous de nombreuses formes : à cheval, sur un char ou simplement en pied … Elles le rendaient omniscientet lui permettaient de faire partie de la vie de la cité. Ceci se révélait d’autant plus déterminant au sein de territoires provinciaux éloignés de Rome, telle que la Colonia Iulia Equestris. Dans les lieux publics et juridiques comme les tribunaux, cesreprésentations symbolisaient l’autorité de l’empereur, validant les décisions y étant prises.

Faire parler les indices : Il est difficile aujourd’hui, lorsque l’on se promène à Nyon, de prendre mesure de la présence qu’occupaient ces statues. Au cours des âges, leurs alliages précieux leur ont valu d’être régulièrement refondues. Une fois le lieu où elles étaient exposées abandonné ou lorsque la personne représentée ne faisait par exemple plus partie de la vie civique, les statues étaient généralement démantelées et leur métal réutilisé pour la création de plus petits objets en bronze (vaisselle, statuette, fibules…).

Pour les quelques sculptures qui ont su traverser le temps, beaucoup considérées comme païennes ont été détruites durant l’époque médiévale… à quelques exceptions près. Il existe sur le Capitole, à Rome, une statue équestre de l’empereur Marc-Aurèle qui ne doit son salut qu’au fait d’avoir été confondue avec une représentation de l’empereur chrétien Constantin. Les autres exceptions sont notamment les sculptures d’Herculanum et Pompéi qui ont été préservées du temps par l’éruption du Vésuve en 79 apr. J.-C. 

A Nyon, quelques fragments nous sont parvenus. Celui illustrant cet article a pour sa part été découvert lors de la construction du parking de la Duche en 2005. Il a été retrouvé proche d’un portique et d’un espace à la décoration riche dont la fonction n’a pas encore pu être déterminée. L’édifice a subi un réaménagement qu’on peut dater, grâce à l’étude des pieux en bois de ses fondations, entre 143-145 apr. J.-C. L’objet aurait ainsi pu provenir d’une statue qui siégeait auparavant dans ce bâtiment et qui aurait été démantelée par la suite. La fonction du lieu n’est pas claire mais au vu des moyens mis à contribution pour son élaboration, les chercheurs ont supposé qu’il s’agissait d’un édifice public de grande envergure. 

Mais que nous apprend ce fragment ? La première chose qui interpelle est sa couleur. Si le bronze possède à l’origine une couleur cuivrée, bien loin de la couleur verte qui est généralement celle laissée par le temps et l’oxydation, les Romains choisissaient parfois de le recouvrir d’une patine.  Ici, une dorure à base de feuilles d’or a été réalisée. Cette pratique était réservée aux représentations de personnages importants tels qu’une divinité, un empereur ou parfois même un haut dignitaire. Dans le premier cas, les représentations étaient généralement dénudées, ce qui entre en opposition avec le fragment. Ici, la pièce est constituée d’une partie lisse suivie de franges caractéristiques que l’on peut parfois retrouver sur le pallium (manteau masculin) de personnages de haut rang. 

Les indices laissent ainsi supposer que cet objet constitue tout ce qui nous est parvenu d’une statue représentant un personnage important, en bronze doré, probablement un empereur vêtu d’un manteau à franges et dont la taille devait au minimum avoisiner la grandeur réelle. En admettant que la statue ornait à l’origine le bâtiment non identifié de la Duche, cela pourrait contribuer à confirmer le rôle officiel que  jouait l’édifice.  

Il existe encore d’autres fragments issus de grands bronzes romains provenant de Nyon qui témoignent du riche passé de la Colonia. Parmi ces pièces ont notamment été retrouvés un glaive et une oreille de cheval probablement respectivement issus d’une statue cuirassée et d’une statue équestre dont l’étude est encore en cours. Ces sculptures de bronze qui peuplaient autrefois nos rues sauront peut-être nous transmettre un dernier message afin que nous puissions en apprendre encore un peu plus sur le passé romain de nos régions. Preuve, s’il en fallait, que la ville a encore de nombreux secrets à nous révéler !

Flore Higelin
Guide et auxiliaire au Musée romain de Nyon. Diplômée en archéologie et réalisant une thèse sur les grands bronzes romains en Suisse.

 

Un peu de lecture : 

  •  J. Fejfer, Roman Portrait in Context, (Berlin 2008)
  • P. Hauser, C. Henny, V. Rey-Vodoz, F. Rossi, Musée romain de Nyon : Colonia Iulia Equestris, (Gollion, 2019) 
  • Pline L’Ancien, Histoire naturelle, texte établi, traduit et commenté par J. Beaujeu, (Paris 1944)
  • E.A. Friedland, The Oxford handbook of Roman sculpture, (New York 2015)
  • E. Formigli, G. Lahusen, Römische Bildnisse aus bronze : Kunst und Technik (Munich, 2001)

 

Fiches techniques:

Fragment de bronze

 

Pour les enfants

Apprends tout sur les grandes statues romaines et bronze et amuses-toi à t'habiller comme les Romains!

U+21E9.gif Téléchargez le texte et le jeu en cliquant ci-dessous U+21E9.gif



Documents à télécharger


#MuseumFromHome

#MuseumFromHome en savoir plus

Pendant fermeture à cause de la pandémie, le Musée romain a lancé #MuseumFromHome, une manière inédite de découvrir les collections!

40 ans du Musée romain

40 ans du Musée romain en savoir plus

Le Musée romain a célébré ses 40 ans, une occasion rêvée de faire la fête, tout en mettant en valeur certains monuments du passé romain de Nyon, notamment au moyen de techniques numériques actuelles.

Réservation de visites

Réservation de visites en savoir plus

Réservez votre visite guidée ici.

Programme pour les écoles

Programme pour les écoles en savoir plus

Un grand choix pour répondre au mieux à vos besoins. Pensez-y pour vos sorties de fin d'année!

Site archéologique

Site archéologique en savoir plus

Découvrez le site archéologique de la ville de Nyon avec ses différentes découvertes !