Temporary exhibitions

« Newcomers »

A subsoil steeped in history

Dates : 2004 - 2004


New batches of antiquities regularly emerge from Nyon’s subsoil as the excavations carried out by the archaeologists of Archeodunum SA under the aegis of the Department of Cantonal Archaeology of the State of Vaud advance.

Repair work begun in 1988 on the infrastructures under the streets of central Nyon has led to intensive archaeological research, the most recent manifestations of which date back to 2003. These activities have considerably enriched the collections of the Museum which in 1993 presented the initial results of five years of urban archaeology.
The time had come for a new update of the discoveries made, even though the studies are far from complete and the majority of the cases presented are not closed.
 
Some examples:
A still little-known sector of the Roman town, below the amphitheatre and in Roman times near the lake shore, has yielded a fine set of 12 vases found broken and burned in a cremation pit – the remains of a funeral banquet held at the very beginning of our era.
Near the basilica, the corner of a room in a house has been excavated and the form of decoration of its wall paintings recreated. With its highly coloured geometrical design, this is the first painting in Nyon that it has been possible to date to the 2nd century AD.

A Celtic statue in Nyon, predating the foundation of the colony around 45 BC? Martin Bossert’s study confirms Edgar Pelichet’s intuition about the head of a statue that had long been preserved in the Museum.

Reserve your visit

Reserve your visit more

Reservation form for your visit

Program for schools

Program for schools more

The Roman Museum has a entire programm made espacially for schools!

Birthdays at the Roman Museum

Birthdays at the Roman Museum more

Choose between 4 workshops for your child's birthday! The plan is to jump back in time, to the Roman era.

Roman days in Nyon

Roman days in Nyon more

Every two years, The Roman day of Nyon shares archaeological research with the public, in a lively and accessible way.

Archaeological site

Archaeological site more

Discover Nyon's archaeological site and its finds!

Support the Roman Museum!

Support the Roman Museum! more

Would you like to support the Roman Museum?

Then join the AMN (Association des Amis des Musées de Nyon) or make a donation to the Roman Museum!

Expositions temporaires

« Nouveaux venus »

Un sous-sol chargé d’histoire

Dates : 2004 - 2004


Le sous-sol de Nyon apporte régulièrement son lot d’antiques nouveautés au gré des fouilles menées sous la responsabilité de la Section de l’archéologie cantonale de l’Etat de Vaud par les archéologues d’Archeodunum SA. 

Les travaux de réfection des infrastructures sous les rues du centre ville, commencés en 1988, ont entraîné d’intensives recherches archéologiques dont les derniers épisodes datent de 2003. Ces interventions ont enrichi considérablement les collections du musée qui présentait, en 1993, les premiers fruits de 5 ans d’archéologie urbaine.
Il était donc temps d’offrir au public un nouveau bilan des découvertes, même si les études sont loin d’être terminées et que la plupart des dossiers présentés ne sont pas clos.

 

Quelques exemples:
En dessous de l’amphithéâtre, un quartier encore inconnu de la ville romaine, proche du rivage à l’époque, a livré un bel ensemble de 12 vases retrouvés brisés et brûlés dans une fosse de crémation, reliefs d’un banquet funéraire tenu au tout début de notre ère.

Près de la basilique, un angle de pièce de maison, décoré de peintures murales dont l’agencement du décor a pu être reconstitué, a été prélevé. Cette peinture à décor géométrique très coloré est la première à Nyon que l’on puisse dater du 2e siècle de notre ère.

Une statue celtique à Nyon, antérieure à la fondation de la colonie vers 45 av. J.-C. ? L’étude de Martin Bossert confirme cette intuition d’Edgar Pelichet à propos d’une tête de statue conservée depuis longtemps au musée. 

#MuseumFromHome

#MuseumFromHome en savoir plus

Pendant fermeture à cause de la pandémie, le Musée romain a lancé #MuseumFromHome, une manière inédite de découvrir les collections!

40 ans du Musée romain

40 ans du Musée romain en savoir plus

Le Musée romain a célébré ses 40 ans, une occasion rêvée de faire la fête, tout en mettant en valeur certains monuments du passé romain de Nyon, notamment au moyen de techniques numériques actuelles.

Réservation de visites

Réservation de visites en savoir plus

Réservez votre visite guidée ici.

Programme pour les écoles

Programme pour les écoles en savoir plus

Un grand choix pour répondre au mieux à vos besoins. Pensez-y pour vos sorties de fin d'année!

Site archéologique

Site archéologique en savoir plus

Découvrez le site archéologique de la ville de Nyon avec ses différentes découvertes !