Rue de la Porcelaine



The excavations carried out between 1996 and 1999 below the Rue de la Porcelaine resulted in large quantities of remains which have extended our knowledge of a hitherto unknown sector of the Roman town, which has proved to have been occupied continually from the beginning of the 1st century to the middle of the 2nd century AD at least.

The former shore of the lake has been identified at the bottom of this terrain thanks to the presence of lake-bed sand containing rolled tiles.  Surveys have revealed tiers of Roman buildings on the slope of the hill.  Two large buildings side-by-side and separated by a path may have been intended for artisanal activities or were storage depots.

Pipes, a well and a fountain were also discovered.  The well was cased with a re-used wooden barrel, three staves of which carried an inscription.  The fountain (exhibited in the Museum) was supplied with clean water by a network of tiled drains and for the time being is the only evidence of how the inhabitants obtained their daily supply of water.

Also found in the sector were 26 graves of new-born infants (one grave is exhibited in the Museum) and a ditch mainly containing pottery and charred bones.  The study of these materials (exhibited in the Museum) suggests that the remains of a funeral ceremony (banquet?) were deposited in the ditch.
 



Reserve your visit

Reserve your visit more

Reservation form for your visit

Program for schools

Program for schools more

The Roman Museum has a entire programm made espacially for schools!

Birthdays at the Roman Museum

Birthdays at the Roman Museum more

Choose between 4 workshops for your child's birthday! The plan is to jump back in time, to the Roman era.

Roman days in Nyon

Roman days in Nyon more

Every two years, The Roman day of Nyon shares archaeological research with the public, in a lively and accessible way.

Archaeological site

Archaeological site more

Discover Nyon's archaeological site and its finds!

Support the Roman Museum!

Support the Roman Museum! more

Would you like to support the Roman Museum?

Then join the AMN (Association des Amis des Musées de Nyon) or make a donation to the Roman Museum!

Rue de la Porcelaine



Les fouilles, menées de 1996 à 1999 en contrebas de la rue de la Porcelaine, ont livré de nombreux vestiges qui permettent d’élargir les connaissances d’un secteur de la ville romaine jusque-là inconnu, et qui s’avère avoir été occupé de manière constante dès le début du Ier siècle jusqu’au milieu de 2e apr. J.-C. au moins.

Le rivage antique du lac a pu être observé au bas de ce terrain, grâce à la présence de sables lacustres contenant des tuiles roulées. Les sondages ont mis en évidence des constructions romaines étagées dans la pente. Deux grands locaux, trouvés côte à côte et séparés par un chemin, pourraient avoir été des bâtiments à vocation artisanale ou des entrepôts.

Des canalisations, un puits et une fontaine ont également été découverts. Le puits était cuvelé par un tonneau en bois en réemploi, dont 3 douves portaient une inscription. La fontaine (exposée au musée) était approvisionnée en eau claire par un réseau de drains en tuiles. Elle constitue pour l’instant le seul témoin de la manière dont les habitants se fournissaient quotidiennement en eau potable.

Par ailleurs, ce secteur a livré 26 tombes de nouveau-nés (dont l’une est exposée au musée), ainsi notamment qu’une fosse qui contenait principalement de la céramique et des ossements calcinés. L’étude de ce matériel (exposé au musée) permet de supposer que ce sont des restes d’une cérémonie de type funéraire (banquet ?) qui ont été déposés dans cette fosse.



Réservation de visites

Réservation de visites en savoir plus

Réservez votre visite guidée ici.

Programme pour les écoles

Programme pour les écoles en savoir plus

Un grand choix pour répondre au mieux à vos besoins. Pensez-y pour vos sorties de fin d'année!

Anniversaires au Musée romain

Anniversaires au Musée romain en savoir plus

Choisissez parmis 4 ateliers pour l'anniversaire de votre enfant! Au programme, un saut dans le temps, jusqu'à l'époque romaine.

Journées romaines de Nyon

Journées romaines de Nyon en savoir plus

Chaque deux ans, la Journée romaine de Nyon permet au public d'explorer l'étude archéologique d'une façon vivante et accessible.

Site archéologique

Site archéologique en savoir plus

Découvrez le site archéologique de la ville de Nyon avec ses différentes découvertes !

Soutenez le Musée romain !

Soutenez le Musée romain ! en savoir plus

Voulez-vous soutenir le Musée romain ?

Rejoignez l'AMN (Association des Amis des Musées de Nyon) ou faites un don pour le Musée romain !