Presentation of the colony

The Colonia Iulia Equestris

Around 45 BC, a little after the conquest of Gaul, the Romans founded the Colonia Iulia Equestris on the shored of Lake Geneva. If we are to believe the sources (ancient and medieval), it covered the right bank of the Rhone, between the region of Gex, the Jura Mountains and the Aubonne river in Switzerland.

The Colonia Iulia Equestris, apparently a military style colony, was intended for the veterans of Caesar's army, probably mounted troops (hence Equestris). It seems slightly older than the two nearby colonies of Lyon (Copia Felix Munatia Lugdunensis) and Augst (Colonia Raurica) near Basel, also founded just after the Gallic Wars. The urban centre of the territory, Noviodunum, was built exactly where the town of Nyon stands today.

What is a Roman colony?

Originally, a colony was comprised of a territory, its land distributed among the new settlers, with an urban centre centralising the political and administrative structures. Some cities were given colony status as an honorary gesture.

When a colony was founded, the territory selected was demarcated and divided into plots in the form of a grid in a ceremony which played a fundamental role in its foundation. This division was known as "cadastration" or "centuriation". The Roman State then conferred a specific political status on the colony modelled on the institutions of the city of Rome.

Nyon seems to have belonged to the category of colonies founded on unoccupied territories, or land taken from the enemy with a view to settlement or the consolidation of Rome's presence.

A long history and urban excavations

From the 19th  century on various personalities in Nyon were fascinated by the town's prestigious Roman past. Already in 1860 a local history museum had been founded. In the 1930's, Edgar Pelichet, curator of the Museum and cantonal archaeologist, undertook numerous studies and on-site research. Knowledge of Roman Nyon progressed rapidly up to the spectacular discovery in the forum in 1974 of the foundations of the basilica.

Archaeological excavations in Nyon are the responsibility of the Vaud Office of Cantonal Archaeology and since 1988 have mainly been conducted by Archeodunum SA, the company commissioned by the Office. Urban excavations require the support of the local political authorities and of the population, who are often curious to discover what traces of their past exist within the town itself.

Archaeological research is regularly carried out in situ in the course of construction or engineering projects. It has been possible to preserve the basilica, which has housed the Roman Museum since 1979, and the amphitheatre, discovered in 1996. Most of the Roman remains, however, are recorded and then reburied. Signs on the paving stones indicate the most important discoveries.

The Roman villa of Commugny, known mainly from the remains of mural paintings of exceptional artistic value discovered early in the 20th century, belonged to the territory of the colony.



The Roman Museum on facebook

The Roman Museum on facebook more

The Roman Museum of Nyon is finally on facebook, through the "association des Amis des Musées de Nyon (AMN)" page! Follow the AMN page and be informed of the news and activities of the Museum.

Roman days in Nyon

Roman days in Nyon more

Every two years, The Roman day of Nyon shares archaeological research with the public, in a lively and accessible way.

Reserve your visit

Reserve your visit more

Reservation form for your visit

Archaeological site

Archaeological site more

Discover Nyon's archaeological site and its finds!

Support the Roman Museum!

Support the Roman Museum! more

Would you like to support the Roman Museum?

Then join the AMN (Association des Amis des Musées de Nyon) or make a donation to the Roman Museum!

Présentation de la colonie

La Colonia Iulia Equestris

Vers 45 avant J.-C., peu après la conquête des Gaules, les Romains créent la Colonia Iulia Equestris au bord du lac Léman. Si l’on en croit les sources (antiques et médiévales), elle s’étendait sur la rive droite de Rhône, entre le pays de Gex, le Jura et la rivière Aubonne, en terre helvète.

Apparemment colonie de type militaire, la Colonia Iulia Equestris était destinée à accueillir des vétérans de l’armée de César, en l’occurrence probablement des cavaliers (Equestris). Elle semble légèrement plus ancienne que les deux colonies voisines de Lyon (Copia Felix Munatia Lugdunensis) et Augst (Colonia Raurica, près de Bâle), créées elles aussi au lendemain de la guerre des Gaules.

Le centre urbain de ce territoire, Noviodunum, fut bâti à l'emplacement même de l'actuelle ville de Nyon.

 

Qu’est-ce qu’une colonie romaine ?

À l'origine, une colonie est constituée d’un territoire, dont les terres sont distribuées aux nouveaux colons, et d’un centre urbain qui centralise les structures politiques et administratives. Il arrive également que certaines cités reçoivent, à titre honorifique, le statut de colonie.

Lors de la fondation, le territoire choisi est délimité et divisé en parcelles au cours d'une cérémonie qui joue un rôle fondateur primordial. Cette opération de quadrillage est appelée "cadastration" ou "centuriation". La colonie reçoit de l’État romain un statut politique spécifique calqué sur le modèle des institutions de la ville de Rome.

Nyon appartient apparemment à la catégorie des colonies fondées dans des territoires inoccupés, ou pris à un ennemi, dans le but d'asseoir ou de consolider la présence romaine.

 

Une longue histoire de fouilles urbaines

Dès le XIXe siècle, des personnalités nyonnaises se sont passionnées pour le passé romain prestigieux de la ville. En 1860 déjà, un musée d’histoire locale est créé. Dès les années 1930, Edgar Pelichet, conservateur du Musée et archéologue cantonal, multiplie études et recherches sur le terrain. Les connaissances sur la Nyon romaine progressent sensiblement jusqu’à la découverte spectaculaire, en 1974, des fondations de la basilique du forum.

Les fouilles archéologiques en ville de Nyon sont entreprises sous la responsabilité de l’Archéologie cantonale de l’Etat de Vaud et menées principalement, depuis 1988, par l’entreprise mandataire Archeodunum SA. Les fouilles urbaines demandent l’appui des pouvoirs politiques locaux ainsi que le soutien de la population, souvent curieuse de découvrir son passé au sein même de la ville.

Des recherches archéologiques sont régulièrement menées sur le site lors de projets immobiliers ou de génie civil. La basilique du forum, qui abrite le Musée romain depuis 1979, ainsi que l'amphithéâtre, découvert en 1996, ont pu être conservés. Mais la plupart des vestiges mis au jour sont répertoriés, puis ensevelis à nouveau. Les plus importants sont signalés par des dallages sur les chaussées.

La villa romaine de Commugny, dont on ne connaît principalement que les vestiges de peintures murales d'exceptionnelle qualité artistique, découverts au début du XXe siècle, appartenait au territoire de la colonie.



Réservation de visites

Réservation de visites en savoir plus

Formulaire de réservation pour vos visites

Programme pour les écoles

Programme pour les écoles en savoir plus

Le Musée romain propose tout un programme pour les écoles, à découvrir ici!

Fêtez l'anniversaire de votre enfant au Musée romain

Fêtez l'anniversaire de votre enfant au Musée romain en savoir plus

Choisissez parmis 4 ateliers pour l'anniversaire de votre enfant! Au programme, un saut dans le temps, jusqu'à l'époque romaine.

Jeux de mains, jeux de Romains

Côté jardin

Masques et compagnie

Petits archéologues

Journées romaines de Nyon

Journées romaines de Nyon en savoir plus

Chaque deux ans, la Journée romaine de Nyon permet au public d'explorer l'étude archéologique d'une façon vivante et accessible.

Site archéologique

Site archéologique en savoir plus

Découvrez le site archéologique de la ville de Nyon avec ses différentes découvertes !

Soutenez le Musée romain !

Soutenez le Musée romain ! en savoir plus

Voulez-vous soutenir le Musée romain ?

Rejoignez l'AMN (Association des Amis des Musées de Nyon) ou faites un don pour le Musée romain !