#MuseumFromHome

Living in a Roman household



Living in a Roman household

“You ask why I so often go to my small domain at arid Momentum[1] and the humble household at my farm? There is no place in town[2], Sparsus[3], where a poor man can either think or rest. One cannot live for schoolmasters in the morning, corn grinders at night, and braziers' hammers all day and night.” Martial, Epigrams, XII, 57[4].

After these few months in confinement, there is nothing more appropriate than to talk about how it was to live in a roman house. Just like today, there were several living spaces. The domus, the insula or the villa are three Latin terms designating different types of dwellings, depending on whether one lives in the Capital (Rome), in a city or in the countryside and on one’s fortune.

A home turned to the inside

The traditional roman house is a domus. The roman architect Vitruvius wrote a treaty on architecture in the 1stcentury BC, in which the domus’ features are detailed. With a quadrangular blueprint, the house is articulated around a square open sky area, called atrium, which is surrounded by different rooms and is the main source of light in the household. There are very few windows on the ground floor, which makes it difficult to have a peek at the inside from the outside. 

The domus is managed by the householder (dominus): the pater familias of the family. The owner of such a household manages his own assets and is usually very wealthy. Manual labour is for the lower classes and the slaves.

Public area of the house

The dominus is prone to clientelism. Every day, he welcomes and entertains clients in his house in order to get them to vote in his favor. Arriving in front of the house, they are greeted on both sides of the door by various shops. Once they step inside, they can marvel at the beautiful mosaic paved ground, where they can often see Medusa or a dark coloured dog, a warning to anyone who has bad intentions. Then, they follow the corridor to the atrium, the public area’s prestigious courtyard. They go around the impluvium, the small basin in the centre of the atrium that collects rainwater fallen from the roof through the compluvium, walk past the house shrine (often in the shape of a temple), or lararium, used for domestic cults, and arrive in front of the tablinum. This room is where the business is held, sheltered from any eavesdroppers with thick curtains or wood partitions. It is also in this room that the pater familias stores his family archives.

Private area of the house

Once every matter of business has been covered, the master of the house leaves his guests, has a frugal diner and goes to the baths, or thermae. The rest of the familiy’s schedule is varied. Children are educated by their teacher, play with their animals (dogs, birds, etc.) and take care of them. The women start the day off by grooming, being helped by their ornatrices who style their hair and dress them. They also go to the baths, they spin and weave wool and take care of the home economics.

The evening meal, the cena, is prepared by the slaves in the kitchen often located at the far end of the house. It is the heartiest meal of the day, taken in the triclinium. This room can either overlook a hortus – a utility garden – or a peristyle, a leisure garden bigger than the hortus, decorated with ponds, fountains, sculptures, etc. The dining room is U shaped to accommodate beds on which the guests will eat lying on their sides, helping themselves to the food laying on low tables situated in front of them. They drink wine mixed with water. The room can be lighted by foothold candelabra. The guests can admire the polychrome decorations on the walls as well as the still-life paintings whilst listening to the birds singing. Once the meal is over, tradition dictates that no one can pick up the food that fell on the floor. It’s the dogs privilege to eat whatever’s left of the masters’ meal around the house after a diner party.

The study of the archaeological remains helps identify the objects and different areas of the house they belong to. Sometimes even in exceptionally good conditions, especially in buried cities such as Pompeii, buried under the ashes of the Vesuvius’ eruption in 79 AD.

Collective dwellings

In Rome or Ostia, overpopulation and lack of space increase the prices and a lot of people are compelled to live in insulae, small buildings with multiple lodgings per floor. Often poorly built by money hungry speculators, some of them can reach until 30 metres high, making them weak. Because of that and poor maintenance they risk collapsing.

These lodgings are accessible by inside or outside staircases opening into apartments of a few rooms, maybe even only one room, lighted by small windows open onto the street, without running water or latrines.

Falling asleep is quite difficult because of the hectic sounds made by the bakers and the various deliveries in the middle of the night. There is a chamber pot in the room, that needs to be often emptied! Every other task takes place outside: people drink and carry water from the nearest fountain, they use the public latrines and baths and they frequent shops and bakers to eat at their counter. A portable brazier warms up the cool nights and winter days and oil lamps are used to illuminate the apartment at dusk.

Suburban villae

Outside the city, suburban villae include several buildings, a farm and its dependencies as well as agricultural lands all around. Romans build these houses near Rome or other privileged places to be able to get away from the city on the scorching hot days of summer. These houses are equipped with even more rooms, most of them dedicated to leisure, and carefully placed according to the position of the sun depending on the season.

In our Romanised regions, habits are a little different. Nevertheless, in Nyon, an insula situated at the Place Bel-Air and a domus at the rue de la Gare gave us the opportunity to identify these areas as being roman residential areas of the Colony, in the 1st and 3rd century AD. Even suburban villae were found on the hills and neighbouring plateaus, giving them a breathtaking view of the lake and Alps.

 

[1] The small city of Momentum, today’s Casali di Mentana, is situated in the Lazio region, more or less 20 km North-East of Rome, and was connected to Rome through the ancient via Nomentana (Chevallier 1997, p. 180-181 ; Radke 1972, p. 146).

[2] Rome.

[3] Masculine name.

[4] Latin poet from the 1st century AD. 

Mila Musy
Guide and auxiliary at the Roman Museum of Nyon, archaeology graduate

Something to read:

Ancient authors

  • Martial, Epigrammes, XII, 57, texte établit et traduit par Pierre Richard, in : M. Rat, Anthologie des poètes latins. Des origines au VIe siècle après Jésus-Christ, II, Paris, Librairie Garnier Frères, p. 321, n°32.
  • Vitruve, De architectura, texte établi par Pierre Gros et traduit par Louis Callebat, Marie-Thérèse Cam, Philippe Fleury et all., Paris, Les Belles Lettres, 2015. 

Secondary literature

  • R. Chevallier, Les voies romaines, Paris, 1997.
  • Collectif, Musée romain de Nyon Colonia Iulia Esquestris, un site, un musée, Gollion, Infolio, 2019.
  • G. Radke, « Nomentum », Kleine Pauly, Band 4, Stuttgart, 1972, p. 146. 
  • C. Salles, La vie des Romains au temps des Césars (Montréal 2004).
  • C. Schucany, M.-F. Meylan Krause, Vivre au quotidien, in : L. Flutsch et al. (dir.), Quand la Suisse n’existait pas : le temps des Romains, Bâle, Société suisse de préhistoire et d’archéologie, 2002, p. 217-264.


#MuseumFromHome

#MuseumFromHome more

During the pandemic lockdown, the Roman Museum launched #MuseumFromHome, a new way for you to discover the Museum's collections!

The Roman Museum is 40 years old

The Roman Museum is 40 years old more

The Roman Museum celebrated its 40th Birthday. An ideal opportunity to celebrate, whilst putting forth a few monuments of the Roman past of Nyon, using digital technology!

Reserve your visit

Reserve your visit more

Reservation form for your visit

Program for schools

Program for schools more

The Roman Museum has a entire programm made espacially for schools!

Archaeological site

Archaeological site more

Discover Nyon's archaeological site and its finds!

#MuseumFromHome

Vivre dans une maison romaine



Vivre dans une maison romaine

« Pourquoi je rejoins souvent ma petite campagne de la sèche Nomente * et le pauvre lare de ma maison des champs ? Tu le demandes ? C’est que dans la Ville (Rome), Sparsus (nom masculin), il n’y a moyen ni de méditer ni de dormir. Pas de vie possible avec les maîtres d’école le matin, la nuit les boulangers, et les marteaux des chaudronniers tout le jour (…) ». Martial **, Epigrammes, XII, 57

Quoi de plus actuel que de traiter du fait de vivre dans une maison romaine à l’heure de notre confinement ! A l’instar d’aujourd’hui, il existe plusieurs espaces de vie. La domus, l’insula ou encore la villa sont trois termes latins qui désignent des types d’habitation différents, selon que l’on se trouve dans la capitale (à Rome), en ville ou à la campagne et en fonction de ses finances. 

Un habitat tourné vers l’intérieur

La maison traditionnelle romaine porte le nom de domus. L’architecte romain Vitruve écrit au Ier siècle av. notre ère un traité sur l’architecture qui en détaille ses caractéristiques. De plan quadrangulaire, elle est articulée autour d’un espace carré à ciel ouvert, appelé atrium, qui distribue les différentes pièces et constitue la principale source de lumière de la maisonnéeDe l’extérieur, peu de fenêtres au rez-de-chaussée ne permettent d’imaginer l’élégance et la taille de son intérieur. 

La domus est l’affaire du maître de maison (dominus) : le pater familias des gens qui vivent avec lui (sa femme, ses enfants et son personnel servile). Le propriétaire d’une telle maison dispose généralement d’une fortune importante et gère ses biens. Les travaux manuels sont réservés aux esclaves et aux classes basses de la société. 

  • Partie publique 

Le dominus pratique le clientélisme. Quotidiennement, celui-ci reçoit dans sa demeure ses clients qui viennent le saluer et sont récompensés en échange de leur vote en sa faveur. Ceux-ci arrivent devant la porte d’entrée bordée de part et d’autre de boutiques et pénètrent dans la maison. Sur le sol pavé de mosaïques, il est fréquent de voir Méduse ou un chien de couleur sombre, si ce n’est un vrai molosse, défiant les visiteurs d’une quelconque fraude ! Ceux-ci longent le couloir avant d’arriver dans l’atrium, pièce d’apparat de la partie publique de la demeure. Ils contournent l’impluvium, petit bassin situé en son centre, qui recueille l’eau de pluie tombée du toit par le compluvium. Ils passent devant le laraire de la domus, petit édicule souvent en forme de temple, qui constitue le lieu des cultes domestiques. Les clients sont reçus dans la pièce visible dès leur arrivée, qui est située en face du couloir après l’atrium. Cette pièce est nommée tablinum. Afin de s’entretenir à l’abri des oreilles indiscrètes, d’épais rideaux ou cloisons de bois peuvent isoler cet espace majeur pour le maître de maison. Il y règle ses affaires mais y dépose aussi ses archives familiales

  • Partie privée

Une fois les services rendus, le maître de maison quitte ses convives et prend un repas frugal avant de se rendre aux thermes. Les activités des autres membres de la famille sont diverses. Les enfants reçoivent l’éducation de leur pédagogue, jouent et s’occupent de leurs animaux de compagnie (chiens, oiseaux etc.) et les femmes font leur toilette, aidées de leurs ornatrices pour la coiffure et l’habillement. Elles se rendent aux bains publics, pratiquent le filage et le tissage de laine et s’occupent de l’économie domestique. 

La préparation du repas du soir, la cena, est réalisée par les esclaves dans la cuisine située souvent au fond du complexe. Il s’agit du repas le plus copieux de la journée, qui se prend dans le triclinium. Celui-ci peut donner sur un petit hortus – jardin utilitaire – ou un péristyle, un jardin d’agrément de plus grande dimension et décoré de bassins, fontaines, sculptures etc. La salle à manger est en forme de U pour permettre d’accueillir des lits afin que les hôtes puissent manger allongés, se servant sur des tables basses devant eux. Ils boivent du vin qu’ils coupent avec de l’eau. La pièce peut être éclairée par des candélabres en pied. Il est possible d’admirer les parois aux décorations polychromes ou figurées de natures mortes et entendre de là le chant des oiseaux. Une fois le repas terminé, la tradition veut qu’on ne prenne pas ce qui est tombé au sol. Le chien déambule librement dans la maison et profite de se nourrir des restes alimentaires de ses maîtres. 

L’étude des vestiges archéologiques permet d’identifier ces espaces et les objets qu’ils renfermaient, parfois en excellent état de conservation, comme dans les cités enfouies sous les cendres de l’éruption du Vésuve en 79. 

Les logements collectifs

A Rome ou à Ostie, la surpopulation et le manque d’espace font exploser les prix et nombreux sont ceux qui vivent dans des insulae, c’est-à-dire des logements multiples à plusieurs étages, autrement dit « des cages-à-poules ». Souvent mal construites par des spéculateurs en quête de profit, certaines peuvent atteindre jusqu’à 30m de haut au risque de s’effondrer par manque de solidité et d’entretien ! 

Ces logements sont accessibles par des escaliers externes ou internes qui aboutissent à des appartements de quelques pièces seulement, voire d’une seule pièce, éclairées par de petites fenêtres ouvertes sur la rue, sans apport en eau courante ni latrines. 

On y dort mal à cause du bruit infernal des boulangers et des livraisons en carrioles la nuit. Les besoins se font dans un pot de chambre qu’il est nécessaire de vider ! les autres tâches s’effectuent au dehors : on va chercher l’eau à la fontaine la plus proche, on se rend aux latrines publiques, aux thermes (bains publics) ainsi que dans les petits commerces et boulangeries pour manger au comptoir. Un petit brasero mobile permet de se réchauffer tant soit peu pendant les nuits fraîches et les journées d’hiver et des lampes à huile aident à trouver son chemin dans l’appartement une fois la nuit tombée. 

Les villae suburbaines

En dehors de la cité, les villae suburbaines comprennent plusieurs bâtiments, une ferme et ses dépendances ainsi que des terres agricoles tout autour. Mais l’attrait croissant des Romains pour les loisirs les poussent à se construire des maisons de plaisance, proches de Rome ou dans ses lieux privilégiés pour fuir la chaleur écrasante de la ville en été. Elles peuvent être munies de pièces encore plus nombreuses, dédiées aux loisirs et l’ensoleillement des pièces est étudié en fonction des saisons. 

Dans nos régions romanisées, les mœurs sont un peu différentes. Toutefois, à Nyon, une insula à la place Bel-Air ainsi que des domus à la rue de la Gare ont permis d’identifier des zones d’habitat romain dans la colonie, du 1er au 3ème siècle de notre ère. Enfin, des villae suburbaines ont été fouillées sur les collines et plateaux avoisinants, leur offrant une vue imprenable sur le lac et les Alpes.  

* La petite cité de Nomentuml'actuelle Casali di Mentana, se situe dans le Latium, à une vingtaine de kilomètres au nord-est de Rome, et était reliée à Rome par l'antique via Nomentana (Chevallier 1997, p. 180-181; Radke 1972, p. 146).

** Poète latin du Ier siècle de notre ère.

 

Mila Musy
Guide et auxiliaire au Musée romain de Nyon, diplômée en archéologie

 

Un peu de lecture : 

Auteurs antiques

  • Martial, Epigrammes, XII, 57, texte établit et traduit par Pierre Richard, in : M. Rat, Anthologie des poètes latins. Des origines au VIe siècle après Jésus-Christ, II, Paris, Librairie Garnier Frères, p. 321, n°32.
  • Vitruve, De architectura, texte établi par Pierre Gros et traduit par Louis Callebat, Marie-Thérèse Cam, Philippe Fleury et all., Paris, Les Belles Lettres, 2015. 

Littérature secondaire

  • R. Chevallier, Les voies romaines, Paris, 1997.
  • Collectif, Musée romain de Nyon Colonia Iulia Esquestris, un site, un musée, Gollion, Infolio, 2019.
  • G. Radke, « Nomentum », Kleine Pauly, Band 4, Stuttgart, 1972, p. 146. 
  • C. Salles, La vie des Romains au temps des Césars (Montréal 2004).
  • C. Schucany, M.-F. Meylan Krause, Vivre au quotidien, in : L. Flutsch et al. (dir.), Quand la Suisse n’existait pas : le temps des Romains, Bâle, Société suisse de préhistoire et d’archéologie, 2002, p. 217-264.

 

 



#MuseumFromHome

#MuseumFromHome en savoir plus

Pendant fermeture à cause de la pandémie, le Musée romain a lancé #MuseumFromHome, une manière inédite de découvrir les collections!

40 ans du Musée romain

40 ans du Musée romain en savoir plus

Le Musée romain a célébré ses 40 ans, une occasion rêvée de faire la fête, tout en mettant en valeur certains monuments du passé romain de Nyon, notamment au moyen de techniques numériques actuelles.

Réservation de visites

Réservation de visites en savoir plus

Réservez votre visite guidée ici.

Programme pour les écoles

Programme pour les écoles en savoir plus

Un grand choix pour répondre au mieux à vos besoins. Pensez-y pour vos sorties de fin d'année!

Site archéologique

Site archéologique en savoir plus

Découvrez le site archéologique de la ville de Nyon avec ses différentes découvertes !